Holy Cross Academy was founded in 1957 by the Diocese of Trenton and operates under the authority of the Bishop of Trenton. In 2004, Bishop John M. Smith formed the Holy Cross Academy Board of Trustees to assist the Diocese in perpetuating the mission of the school. The Board is a powerful partner with the school that works to secure the future of Burlington County’s only Catholic high school through strategic planning and fundraising.


    " Empowered by the Gospel message of Jesus, Holy Cross, a Catholic high school, develops 

    young men and women to become life-long learners and well-informed citizens through

    dynamic spiritual, academic, co-curricular, and community activities."


    The Bishop of Trenton
    Bishop David M. O’Connell, C.M.

    The 10th Bishop of Trenton, was born April 21, 1955, in Philadelphia. A priest of the Eastern Province of the Congregation of the Mission, also known as the Vincentians, Bishop O’Connell grew up in Langhorne, Pa.


    Knowing from an early age that he wished to pursue the priesthood, Bishop O’Connell attended the Vincentians’ St. Joseph Preparatory High School, Princeton. He continued his Vincentian education in Niagara University, New York, where he obtained a bachelor’s degree in philosophy in 1978. Bishop O’Connell prepared for the priesthood in Mary Immaculate Seminary, Northampton, Pa., where he received a master of divinity degree in 1981 and a master’s degree in moral theology in 1983.


    On May 29, 1982, he was ordained a priest of the Congregation of the Mission in Mary Immaculate Seminary by Bishop Joseph McShea of the Diocese of Allentown. On June 4, 2010, Pope Benedict XVI appointed then-Father O’Connell as Coadjutor Bishop of the Diocese of Trenton. He was ordained to the episcopacy by Bishop John M. Smith in St. Mary of the Assumption Cathedral, Trenton, on July 30, 2010. When Pope Benedict XVI accepted the resignation of Bishop Smith on Dec. 1, 2010, Bishop O’Connell automatically succeeded him as the 10th Bishop of Trenton.


    Dr. Joseph R. Marbach, Ph.D. P ’13, ‘15
    Georgian Court University
    Chair – Board of Trustees
    Committees: Executive, Nominating/Governance

    Dennis M. Guida, M.A.T., (ex-officio) P ‘06
    Holy Cross Academy

    JoAnn Tier, M. Ed., (ex-officio) ’64 P ’92, ’95, ’99
    Superintendent of Catholic Schools
    Diocese of Trenton

    Mrs. Christine Donnelly ’85 P ‘15, ‘16
    Vice President of finance
    National Constitution Center
    Philadelphia, Pa
    Committees: Finance/Enrollment, Nominating/Governance

    Mr. Dennis Murawski ’68 P ’99, ’01, ’03,‘06
    Retired VP of Engineering
    Craden Peripherals Corp.
    Cinnaminson, NJ
    Committees: External/Marketing, Buildings & Grounds

    Mr. Christopher Sabatino
    Sr. Director of Construction
    Field Operations and Planning
    Camden County College
    Committees: Building & Grounds

    Mr. T. Scott Shontz ’83 P ’13, ‘14
    Corporate Director
    Dining and Clinical Services
    Healthcare Group Services, Inc.
    Committees: Finance/Enrollment, Building & Grounds

    Thomas Reilly, Jr. H ’12, P ’76, ’80, G ‘08
    Delran, New Jersey
    Committees: Buildings & Grounds